31-for-31

I recently turned 31.

To begin with, it went a lot better than when I turned 30. There was no crazy restrictive dairy-free/gluten-free/enjoyment-free diet ruining my existence. I had already dipped my toes into the new decade and survived.  I didn’t end up face-down into a cake I couldn’t eat. Progress!

To continue with my graceful transition into my 30s, I decided to set some fun (and some rather boring but practical) goals for the next 355-ish days. Some pertain to travel, some pertain to getting off the couch more but all are things that will help make 31 a pretty great year! Hat tip to Steve because I shamelessly stole this idea from him.

So, here we go!

Ooot and Aboot

1.  Travel to a new country (as in new-to-me, not a newly FORMED country)
2. Check out an awesome music festival
3. Apply for a British passport
4. Hike in the Rockies
5. Reach Air Canada Altitude status
6. Investigate garden allotments
7. Explore my own city
8. Go to the middle of nowhere and watch a meteor shower

Health

9. Go to yoga weekly
10. Run a 10K race in under 1:05
11. Get at least seven hours of sleep a night…consistently
12. Take Meatless Mondays a step further and make mine vegan AND gluten-free
13. Conquer my fear of heights and go rock climbing
14. Hold a plank for two minutes

Arts and Crafts

15. Watch Good Will Hunting
16. Get a membership for the Bloor Cinema and check out some docs
17. Learn all the lyrics to “I Wish I Was a Little Bit Taller”
18. Do something crafty once a month
19. Listen to the entire Rolling Stones catalogue in chronological order in one weekend
20. Take a photography class

Money, Money, Money

21. Meet with a financial planner and determine an investment strategy
22. Set up a weekly and monthly budget. And use it.

Personal and Professional Growth

23. Get my French to a basic conversational level (I’m very good at ordering wine…)
24. Volunteer
25. Learn Photoshop
26. Overcome my fear of needles and donate blood

Sam Time

27. Have a digital detox weekend and disconnect from social media and the internet
28. Make time to write at least once a week
29. Get published
30. Read five books that I really should have read by now but haven’t

31. Most importantly, on February 26, 2015, look back on 31 and realize it was an awesome year, and resist the urge to end up face-down in a cake.

So…now you know some of my goals. I’ll update periodically when I accomplish things – and if you’re interested in joining in on any of them, I’m game!

8 thoughts on “31-for-31

  1. That’s a lot of goals but I know you can do it!! What is “altitude status” and “investigate garden allotments”? You mentioned learning all the words to “I wish I was a little bit taller” but do you know all the words to Fresh Prince of Bel Air theme song??? I know approx 93% of it!

    1. Altitude status is basically when you fly a whole lot on Air Canada, and then you get perks. I’m at 20% so far, so it’s going to be tough to make this happen but I’ll try!

      A garden allotment is a community space where multiple people can have their own garden plots! Basically I want to grow my own veggies and a few flowers, poke around in the dirt, etc 🙂

      And re: Fresh Prince: impressive 🙂

    1. Do it! I wish I’d done so earlier. It’s a fun way to look back on a year and see all the great things you’ve accomplished.

Leave a Reply

