These are a few of my favourite things…

I don’t know about you, but two+ weeks of grey skies, bitterly cold temperatures and a lack of sunshine have really started to wear me down. I’ve replaced my normal healthy-ish habits with an increased amount of comfort food, chips and Bailey’s in my coffee. I want to live in sweats and watch trashy TV. Basically, I’m in hibernation mode.

In an effort to boost my spirits, I brainstormed about some of my favourite “happy” things. These include:

  • Wandering a farmers’ market on a warm spring day
  • Weekend brunch dates with girlfriends or my mum
  • Devouring an entire newspaper in one sitting with a large mug of coffee
  • 5K jogs on crisp mornings with no shin OR hip pain
  • Cavity-free dental checkups!
  • Buying flowers
  • Graffiti (not offensive stuff, obviously)
  • Hikes
  • Browsing used music and book stores
  • Picnics
  • Writing
  • Fun blogs such as this, and this, and this
  • Photography
  • Tea
  • Kicking ass at Teen Jeopardy. Suck it Trebek, you smug jerk.
  • Tuxedo cats
  • Colouring books
  • Travel scheming
  • Parallel parking on the first try
  • Mountains and ocean air
  • And on that note, California and BC. Again and again and again.
  • Baked goods
  • Tacos
  • Yard sales
  • Wine and Skype
  • Craft dates
  • Reading in the sun
  • Stationery shops like this one

I still feel a tad gloomy, but excited to realize that some of my favourite things involve staying in my warm, toasty house! What brings you joy?

2 thoughts on “These are a few of my favourite things…

  1. If you like tuxedo cats does that mean you like O’Malley?! It’s been an outrageously cold Winter here in Northern Ontario and we’re starting to get some cabin fever too. I try to get out for a walk or at least drive to a nice spot and if it’s just too cold and gloomy to go out then cards and cheesey boardgames seems to brighten the spirits!!

    And coffee helps. A lot.

    1. Of course I like my fur nephew! I’m going to have to come visit him this summer.

      I second the coffee. I’ve been drinking a lot of it this winter! And definitely reading more. This winter has been the pits!

Leave a Reply

