In the City – Food Cart Fest

Food Cart Fest

What: A weekly food cart bonanza 
Where
:
Downtown Vancouver, overlooking False Creek. About a 10 minute walk from the Canada Line Olympic Village station, or a short Aquabus trip.
When
: Every Sunday until September 23 from 12 – 6 p.m. 
Good Stuff to Know: New this year, there’s a $2 entry fee unless you bank with Vancity. If you’re not a local, prepare to pony up a toonie. Kids under 13 get in free. Also, get there early! We arrived just after 1 p.m. and the lines weren’t bad, but by the time we’d made our decisions it was packed.

The Scene: Oh man. Over 15 glorious food trucks and carts cooking up freshly prepared grilled cheese, juice, Indian food and more. I checked out the first edition of the newly located food fest and was not disappointed. In town for a conference, my colleagues and I wandered in a daze as the air  filled with scents both spicy and sweet; it was like Christmas for grown-ups in terms of the levels of excitement. Despite my original plans to try something new, I ended up going to an old favourite, Tacofino. The 20-minute wait in the rain was worth it – I inhaled a black bean soft taco and half the diablo cookie I snagged for dessert before I rejoined my colleagues at Soho Road.

Tacofino

I was still hungry, but by this point all of the lines were insane. I overheard someone mention they had waited almost 50 minutes for Holy Perogy – dude! – and the line for Reel Mac N’ Cheese almost went back out of the parking lot. So I settled for the shortest line, Johnny’s Pops, and grabbed a strawberry rhubarb popsicle which was all sorts of amazing!

Strawberry rhubarb popsicle

Seriously, look at that bad boy!

Due to conference commitments we had to leave fairly quickly after eating, so I didn’t get a chance to check out the craft vendors that were also on hand. The Food Cart Fest is running throughout the summer and is a fun way to try a new food or two (or three) – check it out if you’re in Vancouver on a Sunday! Come hungry!

One thought on “In the City – Food Cart Fest

Leave a Reply

