Sunday Seven – Travel Quotes

A year ago today, I set off on my ’round-the-world journey! How fast a year flies. I can vividly remember the emotions I was feeling that day – both excited and nervous. Also, completely oblivious to the Super Bowl bonanza that was happening. Flash forward a year, and that hasn’t changed.

At any rate, today I’m launching a new weekly series – the Sunday Seven. First out of the gate – seven of my favourite travel quotes. Some are serious, some funny, but all hold lots of meaning for me.

  1. “Tourists don’t know where they’ve been, travelers don’t know where they’re going.” – Paul Theroux
  2. “For my part, I travel not to go anywhere, but to go. I travel for travel’s sake. The great affair is to move.” – Robert Louis Stevenson
  3. “One’s destination is never a place, but a new way of seeing things.” – Henry Miller
  4. “Though we travel the world over to find the beautiful, we must carry it with us or we find it not.” – Ralph Waldo Emerson
  5. “I may not have gone where I intended to go, but I think I have ended up where I intended to be.” – Douglas Adams
  6. “Anything we fully do is an alone journey.” – Natalie Goldberg
  7. “Airplane travel is nature’s way of making you look like your passport photo.” – Al Gore (probably my personal favourite!)

So, what are some of your favourites? Leave a comment below!

 

2 thoughts on “Sunday Seven – Travel Quotes

  1. Well, I can’t begin to tell you the emotions I felt that day (and re-lived them all last Sunday!) Here’s one of my favourite quotes: “The world is a book and those who do not travel read only a page” – St. Augustine
    (slightly ironic coming from an avid reader who doesn’t travel much)
    love Mum

Leave a Reply

