Dogs and Baked Goods

I’m in Victoria, BC right now for work, because I am one of the luckiest people ever. And as I sit working on, well, work I noticed that a LOT of people here have larger dogs. Not like GreatDane-sized, but not the yappy little things that I’m getting used to seeing in Toronto. I think you can tell a lot about a place based on several factors:

  • How friendly its citizens are
  • The number of independent shops
  • Lots of well-behaved dogs
At the moment, I’m eating lunch at an independent bakery (to be fair I’m eating a cinnamon bun the size of my face, and I just ate a veggie scramble with fries. This is the second day in a row I have had fries, and I am getting worried but they are SO delicious. I went to the gym last night – that evens things out right? RIGHT?), chatting with a 91-year-old woman who is celebrating her birthday today, next to a Golden Retriever who may just charm me into giving him my cinnamon bun.
Therefore, Victoria passes the test. Although I’ve been here before, so I knew that.
How do you suss out a place you’re visiting?
Leave a Reply

