End of the Road

The road back to Canada was an emotional, conflicted one.

On the one hand, I was pretty spent. I’d say I was about a week, week and a half tops from having an ugly meltdown over something totally insignificant. “You’re out of pain au chocolat? ARGHHHHHHHHHHHH!” I was tired, emotionally and physically. I missed home. I wanted to wear clothing that didn’t immediately peg me as a backpacker (shallow, yes, but I had been wearing the same threads for months).

But on the flip side, I was completely in control of my life. It was selfish bliss at times – “Would you like to stay in this museum for another hour?”, “Would you like to get drunk at noon?” etc. etc. I actually liked knowing that I was carrying all of my possessions with me, and could perfectly pack everything up in under six minutes while simultaneously eating breakfast. That’s a life skill I’m probably not going to utilize again. I was ultimately experiencing a freedom from relative responsibility that was rather kick-ass, to be honest. So going home was a mixed bag of emotions for me.

Following our defeat over the closed Monet museum and being unable to find the Arc de Triomphe (so ridiculous seeing how it’s HUGE), Megan and I decided to have a nice dinner for our last night and leisurely pack, so we stopped and picked up a delicious-looking slice of quiche. I had been trying to have quiche since arriving in Paris with no avail (power being out at one restaurant, nothing but salmon in them, etc), so this was pretty exciting. Somehow, despite pointing to the tomato quiche and the woman at the shop nodding enthusiastically, we ended up with the salmon one.

We packed, laughing over photos with some nice beaujolais, and had about a four-hour nap before leaving for the airport. The flights were long, but I have never been so excited to land in Toronto. Even with the wall of humidity that awaited me.

Being home is a strange feeling. I have to remind myself sometimes that I actually went to these places. And it’s definitely ruined me for future vacations. But I had a blast, good times and bad (more on those in the next post), and wouldn’t trade any of my experiences for anything.

I’ve decided to keep this blog going to write about more of my experiences and will eventually determine what direction I’d like to take with it – so stay tuned for more posts! If you have any questions please fire them my way.

Leave a Reply

