Ride for Heart!

Hi all!

I hope you’re enjoying the blogs. Even though I took a bit of a vacation from blogging whilst in England, I’m trying to get back in the swing of things and will post more often as I enter the final stretch of my “Eat, Pray, Love” knockoff tour of the world. Which has been all eating. A delicious tour, really.

As I wind down the adventure, I’m also in the homestretch for my fundraising for the Heart and Stroke Foundation’s Ride for Heart, which I’ll be participating in a mere four days after I return.

So, why do I do this event?

Well, for one thing heart disease and stroke impacts a lot of people – including my family. But unlike a lot of illnesses, eighty percent of premature onset of heart disease and stroke is preventable. Much of the money fundraised through this event is put towards stroke awareness campaigns, online e-tools for better health and critical research initiatives for healthcare professionals. It’s also used for life-saving research. So I know that the money I fundraise goes towards helping to extend the lives of Canadians, and I think that’s a pretty cool thing!

My fundraising goal, which I’ve met each year I’ve participated in this event, is $1,000. I’m currently almost at the $600 mark – so close! – and thanks to all of you who have already donated. If you haven’t, please help me and this great cause by making a donation if you can. Every amount makes a difference, whether it’s $5 or $50, and I’d greatly appreciate your support! Donations can be made online.

BIG thanks!

Sam

2 thoughts on “Ride for Heart!

  1. I have to hand it to you – doing that ride after only 4 days of being back. You are a better man than I Gunga Din!! But you are also a lot younger – so that probably explains it. Can’t wait to see you.

Leave a Reply

