Out of Order

…my posts have been. Until now, I think I’m just about caught up.

After getting to Melbourne and heading out on the Great Ocean Road, my internet access was spotty. I was also, admittedly, quite exhausted, and driving long hours each day. It came down to “post a blog, or sleep? Sleep!”.

So I’m just about up-to-date. After spending a few days now in Australia, I have a few thoughts:

  • Bugs: They are just as big as you’d imagine. I thought I was getting a free pass by not seeing any.  These things make the giant cockroach I hid from in Hawaii look puny. Apparently all the rain has made them even more plentiful. Excellent.
  • Roundabouts: Why are there so many?!?! Are there rules? It seems to me to be a free-for-all. And I go through at least 20 a day, making a little “eeeee” sound as I do. It’s bad enough I’m on the other side of the road.
  • Weather: It’s freezing. Apparently summer has been awful here. Wish I’d realized this before packing shorts and t-shirts, and leaving behind sweaters!
  • Food (and stuff in general): Everything is so expensive! Australia you are robbing me blind!
5 thoughts on “Out of Order

  1. How about some pictures of those bug, Sam? I doubt they’re really as big as you say they are (I don’t really, I just want pictures and have found that challenging someone like that usually works).

    1. I certainly did not take photos. It was bad enough walking past a shop window and seeing a plague of these things swarming the displays. Imagine a cockroach and a fly got together and said “we should join forces and take over this joint” – and you’d have whatever this bug was.

      1. Maybe it was a pet store? Were they wearing leashing? They could have been the famous Australian Domesticated Beetle. Fun fact, you can train them to do over 80 different tricks. Everything from infest this house to run around without a head for a week. Amazing creatures, really. If you get a chance, snap a shot 🙂

      2. It was a clothing store! But just for you, I took a picture of several large spiders hanging out. It’s now my mission to document any and all horrendously large bugs to ensure that you are kept up to date on the bug situation here.

  2. Sam, consider yourself lucky you’re only asked for pics. I am told the bugs will come into the house once we live close to the Osoyoos dessert.

Leave a Reply

