Dinner for One

I’ve been getting into a bad habit of skipping lunch or cheaping out on dinner in an effort to save money. While wandering around Rotorua slightly lost another backpacker stopped me to ask for directions, and we ended up walking around for a bit trying to find our way back to the bus stop. He was also travelling on his own and I decided to be bold and ask him to have dinner with me, thus ensuring that I would not only eat a proper meal, but that I would have company to boot. Eating on my own is not something I have a problem with – it’s a reality with my job many months of the year, and to be honest it’s sometimes nice to only have to cater to what my tummy wants! But one of the purposes of this trip is to challenge myself and I was pretty impressed that I asked a stranger to dinner.

It started off fine – he was from Korea and we chatted about the benefits of travelling solo, and how it’s sometimes difficult to explain to others why it appeals to us. But then he had to go and hit on me repeatedly.

Normally when I travel I wear a fake wedding ring, and in yet another forehead-slapping move I forgot it when packing. Man I wish I’d had that ring at dinner. It was the longest, most painful dinner of life. My eyes pleaded with the waitress each time she floated past to please, please bring the bill. But she either did not read eyes well or felt like torturing me for ordering the cheapest (and only vegetarian) item on the menu.

Why you single?

Why you not travel with man?

If I come to Canada, will you date me?

And so on.

I haven’t been travelling for that long, but I’ve already noticed a lack of solo females out there. I am seeing a lot of couples, and a lot of gal and guy friends having a blast together. Witnessing these groups of happy-pappy people and the looks of pity that I can just FEEL they’re giving me is making this hard. Being hit on by every guy I meet is also not helping.

Is it really this hard for a solo female traveller? I just want to make friends! Dear fellow travellers – please be my friend. I’m cool and come with snacks!

 

6 thoughts on “Dinner for One

  1. Travelling solo is much more difficult and is very admirable so keep your spirits up! I’m sure you’ll meet some other solo travellers that won’t hit on you – maybe you can find some that have snacks too and you can trade/share!!

  2. It’s probably just the guy was confused or a cultural difference or something. Luckily, it’s traveling, so you probably won’t see him again. That was always a plus for me. If they asked me where I was going next and I thought he was creepy enough to follow me, I’d say I was going somewhere else and if we happened to run into each other and my lie was revealed, I’d say my plans changed, etc. Maybe try to hook up with another female solo traveler or even a friend couple for a few days. I never travel with a fake ring… it might scare off a nice guy! 😛 You can always mention a boyfriend casually if you need to scare him off!

  3. What kills me on solo travels is not having anyone to yap to. They make for very quiet days sometimes. Especially when you don’t speak the language. Then you’re really mute. Or someone to share that most amazing life-death adventure with. But! The best part is you get to eat what YOU want. Decisions are made 10x faster! There’s no conflict, fights, disagreements. And you never have to compromise your itinerary! Yay! I like no-compromises!

    p.s. ballsy move having dinner with a stranger, Samantha!

Leave a Reply

